top of page
YLYF gallery image 25

Our partners

We don't run Young Lives, Young Futures entirely alone and unsupervised!


We ask for help and feedback from a number of advisory groups - one is made up of young people, another of experts in conducting large-scale research. And the third group, our Advisory Panel, is made up of education researchers and professionals from policy and practice organisations involved in providing education, employment and wellbeing support for young people.

See below to find out more about who's involved in each group.


Youth Advisory Group

The Youth Advisory Group, which meets annually, provides a platform for young people to discuss their experiences and decision-making processes around their education, work and life choices.  

2022 participants

  • Le’Shaé Woodstock

2021 participants

  • Rowie Maddison

  • Suraya Miah

  • Le’Shaé Woodstock

2019 participants

  • Orla Peters

  • Shakeel Mohammed

  • Kyle Mills

  • Rowie Maddison

Interested in joining the Youth Advisory Group?


Technical Advisory Group

  • Dr. Erzsébet Bukodi
    Associate Professor in Quantitative Social Policy, Department of Social Policy and Intervention and Professorial Fellow in Sociology, Nuffield College, University of Oxford.


  • Dr. Richard Garrett
    Head of Surveys and Research, FE Analysis Division, Department for Education


  • Prof. Steven McIntosh
    Professor of Economics, University of Sheffield


  • Dr. Paul Newton
    Research Chair, Ofqual


  • Dr. Alex Wilson
    Deputy Director (Digital Services and Data Science), Institute for Apprenticeships & Technical Education


  • Mr. Trevor Murrells
    King’s College London



  • Rhui Bhalla - Young Futures Manager, Stonewall

  • ​​Sue Clarke - Qualifications Policy Lead, Department for Education

  • Prof. Harry Daniels - Professor of Education, University of Oxford

  • Anna Darnell - Policy and Partnerships Manager, Youth Futures Foundation

  • Hurbert Ertl - Head of Research, German Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training (BIBB). Expert in European education and training policy, comparative education

  • Amanda Fearn - Development Director, National Youth Agency

  • Ryan Gibson - Careers Lead, Academies Enterprise Trust

  • Laura Hawksworth - Head of Policy & Impact, Careers and Enterprise Company

  • Osman Jama - Founder and Chief Executive, Young Futures

  • Julia Jones - Learning & Skills Policy Officer, TUC

  • Prof. Ewart Keep - Professor of Education, Training and Skills, University of Oxford

  • Bilal Khan - Organisational Facilitator and Podcaster, Freelance

  • Rabia Lemahieu - Disability and Skill Manager, Disability Rights UK

  • Prof. Lisbeth Lundahl - Professor of Educational Work, Umeå University, Sweden. Expert in comparative education, early school leaving, young people’s school to work transitions

  • Prof. Sue Maguire - Honorary Professor, Bath University

  • Sorcha Mahony - Evaluation & Impact Lead, The Children's Society

  • Richard Marsh - Director, Talent Academy NEOM

  • Louise Moore - Senior Researcher, The Children's Society

  • Lauren Mistry - Director of Communications and Operations, Youth Employment UK

  • Joe Pardoe - Head of CPD, Big Education

  • Stella Pearson - T-Levels lead, Department for Education

  • Adam Peel - Research Officer, National Youth Agency

  • Michelle Rainbow - Skills Director, North East LEP (Local Enterprise Partnership)

  • Charlotte Rainer - Coalition Lead, Children and Young People’s Mental Health Coalition

  • Tebussum (Tebs) Rashid - Associate & Lead Consultant, Action for Race Equality (ARE)

  • Holly Rigby - Teacher and Journalist, School 21 & The Guardian

  • Julian Roberts - Head of Employability, Truro and Penwith College

  • Catherine Sezen - Senior Policy Manager - FE, Association of Colleges

  • Vikki Smith - Director of Education, Education and Training Foundation

  • Emily Tanner - Programme Head (Post-14 Education & Skills), Nuffield Foundation

  • Helen Tattam - Department for Education

  • Catherine Whitfield - Race Equality Officer, NEU

  • Le’Shaé Woodstock - Young Apprentice (former Youth Advisory Group member)


We are also thankful to those who have previously been Advisory Panel members: 

  • Jim Addison

  • Joe Billington

  • Josh Bradlow

  • Karen Chouhan

  • Catherine Fitzgerald

  • Iain Murray

  • Eloise Stonborough

  • Nicholas Trower

  • Ruth Lupton

bottom of page